on January 25, 2009 by Wolf in Internet Scams, Comments (5)

Fake Confirmation Email from Tara Bartholomaios (Mrs.)

This was very interesting.  You probably go to a lot of sites and you may sign up at a lot of sites, or for email courses.  Confirmation emails are quite common in my test inbox, just as they may be common for you.  Here is an example of a phishing email dressed up as a Confirmation.  Note the vagueness of the message.  My first clue was that they couldn’t be specific about what I had signed up for, and the second clue was that they were using an anonymous live.com email address.    My second clue was the overabundance of detail about the signature of the purported sender.   Why no detail about what I may have won, but the specific honorific by which the sender wished to be known “Tara Bartholomaios (Mrs.).”  Presumably all the other Tara Bartholomaios’s I may know are ruled out by her attention to detail.

——————————————————————

Re: Email confirmation for visiting our websites!Sunday, January 25, 2009 12:10 PM
From: “verify.details6172@live.com” <verify.details6172@live.com>Add sender to Contacts To: verify.details6172@live.comDear Website Visitor,

Thank you for visiting one of our Promotional Websites! As the hourly winner on one of our various promotional websites, a set of Lucky Numbers has been generated and sent to you by email. Your Lucky Numbers are: 06-08-20-39-41-47.

CONTACT: The Processing Manager to claim Prize.
Email: data.59@live.com

Please, forward your Your Lucky Numbers {06-08-20-39-41-47}, Name, Address and Phone No., and Your Favourite Website to the above Email [ data.59@live.com ] to claim Funds. Thank you!

Regards;

Tara Bartholomaios (Mrs.)

Book Mark it-> del.icio.us | Reddit | Slashdot | Digg | Facebook | Technorati | Google | StumbleUpon | Window Live | Tailrank | Furl | Netscape | Yahoo | BlinkList

Tags: , ,

5 Comments

  1. Debbie

    January 26, 2009 @ 1:21 pm

    they are using a new name now, Jennifer Smith

  2. tiger

    January 27, 2009 @ 8:47 pm

    Now they are using another name: Cindy Winehouse.Is there a way to track their ip adress and contact authorities?

  3. Wolf

    January 28, 2009 @ 12:34 am

    You can search out the IP address of an email by making the headers visible. Either turn the headers on (in yahoo-mail’s options) or “view source” of the email. They use free emails like yahoo and so on, so it is not easy to catch them at that place, but sometimes you can get the authorities interested in busting their web site (when they give one).

    I have done a number of sting operations on these scams, but the Treasury Dept (who handle Nigerian scams and such things) don’t want to put civilians in harm’s way, so we never set up meetings with the scammers. Many of these scamsters run their scams from outside the country, in places where these internet scams are not fully illegal or where there is no extradition treaties with the US.

    They make it difficult to prosecute.

  4. Lis

    February 2, 2009 @ 9:43 am

    They use the British way of spelling “Favourite” rather than the more commonly used “favorite” so that gives a clue that it is outside the US

  5. Tommy L.

    June 4, 2009 @ 9:19 pm

    Really insightful posts here. Glad I finally found this place. I can’t remember who referred me here, but sure glad they did.

Leave a comment

XHTML: Allowed tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

CommentLuv Enabled